It is better to learn the way people lived in the past through films and video records than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is well-known fact that people prefer watching a movie over reading about history through books. A group of people believe that electronic media is the best channel to upgrade our knowledge about our past history, culture and people. I vehemently agree that videos provide better clarity compare to reading about history from text. This write up will discuss, how films and video records are much better than reading from documents. It goes without saying that audio-visual learning is the best method to teach our younger generations about history and past culture. In this day and time, children are tech savvy, the whole world is available to them with a single touch, hence instead of putting more time into reading, they can watch any documentary on YouTube. For instance, by just typing one single work in the search bar they will get heaps of information on the topic they are looking for. I do agree history written in books and reports comes from well-known and trustworthy sources, however, these days the younger generation are bit impatient and does not have much interest in reading. Hence videography is the best way to keep them connected and educated about our past, history, culture and people. Additionally, reading is possible only for people who are literate. Thus, vlogs and movies help individuals who can not read and by watching electronic media they get to learn about their cultural history. Furthermore, while reading about history, we have to put additional effort into imagining how that era would have been, about clothes, food, and infrastructure but in movies you get to see and learn from it without using your imagination. For example, by watching a movie about the world war or Indian freedom fighters, today’s generation can learn about the sacrifices made by our freedom heroes and their families. In conclusion, although the written thesis and documents provide us with detailed information but due to the time constraint and people who are uneducated, the audio and video visuals are undoubtedly beneficial.