It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. We can learn as much as from books, films and internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the rapid advancement of technology, fewer and fewer people are embarking on a journey and instead are relying on travelling books, movies, and websites. Because of this, some consider going places as futile. I partly agree with this notion based on the following reasons. On the one hand, I admit that traveling virtually is cost-saving unlike doing it in person, rendering travels to learn cultures unnecessary. For example, innumerable books on travelling are heavily available, let alone films highlighting the best cultural and tourist spots in the world like Machu Picchu in Peru or the Eiffel Tower in Paris. All of these can be read in volumes and seen in movies. Additionally, the Internet is a haven of unlimited travel blogs and videos for free, so thrifty travellers will find physical travelling unneeded when wanting to learn about various cultural backgrounds locally and abroad. On the other hand, I must say too that the first-hand experience brought by physical travelling broadens one’s horizon. Taking the Great Wall of China as an example, it can easily be seen in books, but the details are often vague. Contrarily, up close, a traveller will see the intricacy of each wall, not to mention its length and its resemblance to a dragon; hence, it offers real-life education and cultural learning. The feeling of being there in person strengthens our sense of happiness. Engaging in one’s culture, like trying out new cuisine and learning a new language, is totally fun and a form of stress relief rather than simply watching films, so actual travelling remains vital for one’s well-being. In conclusion, the convenience of virtual travelling is non-negligible, but for the sake of irreplaceable experience, I concur that travelling in person remains a necessity.