Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

These days, in many parts of the world, the majority of students, after finishing high school, avoid pursuing a university degree that involves studying heavy science. Most of the time, scholars fear this path because such subjects demand a complex set of skills and broad knowledge of mathematics. In consequence, there will be a deficit of prepared specialists, which are very important for the development process of society as a whole. On the one hand, science is a major that requires a lot of commitment and effort in order to become an expert. Specifically, many students are intimidated by the freedom they have to sacrifice in order to excel and get outstanding results. For example, an astronomy course implies a higher level of complexity and around 40 hours of independent study per week, while a communication course consists of approximately 15 hours. Also, many individuals have to work and learn simultaneously, so they’ll not be able to do both of them effectively. As a result, a lot of concerns are measured in various fields. Firstly, the lack of professionals drops off the possibility of developing technology, healthcare, and engineering expertise. In connection with this, today, the increasing greenhouse effect causes diverse damages; however, there are only a few researchers concentrating on inventing new ways to prevent it, and it consumes a lot of resources and energy. Furthermore, the lack of professionals in the communities leads to bringing them from other areas, limiting efficiency and productivity. To conclude, while science is regarded as a laborious subject because of its competitiveness and low success rate, it is vital to understand its importance for humankind and economic systems, which would be greatly impacted without its evolution.