Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people believe that elevating the pricing level of gasoline would be the most effective method to respond the increasing traffic and pollution issue, While the method can be one of the options to combat the issue, I believe that the better response to address the issue is by pushing public transportation usage as it can solve them while causing less negative outcome. The main goal of hiking the price of gasoline is to reduce the traffic and pollution numbers which are derived from the high level of private motorized vehicle usage. Increasing the gasoline price would not affect the more affluent group of people who still prefer to commute using their own vehicle as they still have spare funds for additional expenses. On the other hand, those in the lower economic level group will suffer more as this approach can potentially result in a pricing surge for daily essential products as many business sectors that use gasoline as the fuel for their logistics will need to alter their pricing. In comparison, promoting public transportation is a better solution to answer the rising traffic and pollution level as it can effectively address various aspects of the issue. Firstly, public transportation modes such as buses and subways can contain more people in each vehicle, meaning that the road will be less packed, resulting in less traffic jams. In conjunction, the less vehicle used also translates to less pollution. This approach may be done by elevating the service quality in terms of comfort and convenience so that the commuters are more attracted and interested to choose public transportation. To conclude, promoting and elevating the service of public transportation system is a better solution and response to combat traffic and pollution issues as it can address the various aspects while also not causing additional issues.