Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although the purpose of university education is believed to help their graduated students get an ideal position in the company by several citizens, others are convinced that both individuals and society can receive numerous beneficial impacts from the tertiary education. From my personal perspective, the main goal of education in the university should be job related. On the one hand, it can be easily noticed that many degree curriculums are designed for their students to prepare for the duty and role in specific work fields. In fact, there are a great deal of professional degree provide their graduates with certification in order to provide greater competitive in getting a job. For instance, healthcare-related degrees, such as nursing, occupational therapy, or physiotherapy, always provide internships and clinical placements and licenses to their graduates after they completed all the requirements. Therefore, they are relatively more familiar with the workplace and procedures than others and pursue a higher position in their career. On the other hand, a number of people point out that the personal growth and attitudes that graduates gained from the university are more precious to the society and their own. Furthermore, maturity and actively engaging in social decisions are both elements that are expected by university graduates. As a matter of fact, their ability in critical thinking and their civil responsibility are important to help develop a society. For instance, they can take part in elections and help set up social policies. If there were not enough tertiary education to the general public, the level and stability of society may decline significantly. To conclude, the university education is important for both personal and social development. After carefully reviewing both views, I believe the mission of university should be helping their graduates to secure their future development.