Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments.

In many parts of the world, there is a growing focus on building houses, and these developments often come at the expense of a city’s natural environment, such as parks and farmlands. While this can help address housing shortages and revitalize areas, the loss of green spaces in cities can negatively affect the environment and people ’s mental well-being. Therefore, it is a negative development overall. The shortage of housing is one of the biggest problems facing many cities today. Turning underutilized parks and farmland into apartment blocks can help meet the increasing demand for housing, especially in densely-populated areas. The creation of housing can alleviate the housing crises not only by directly offering accommodation to people who are willing to buy one, but also by increasing the availability of options, which can lead to more affordable housing prices in an area, allowing people from low-income backgrounds to get on the property ladder. Additionally, the introduction of housing in the form of apartment blocks and skyscrapers often leads to the overall development of the area for the residents. This is because with these usually come many more amenities, including shopping malls, playgrounds, recreational facilities, and parking spaces. These improvements generally contribute to a higher quality of life. By contrast, in many towns, residents often complain about the lack of such opportunities, having to commute to access them in another part of the city. However, I believe prioritizing urban development neglecting the natural environment can have some serious repercussions for an area in the long run. Firstly, environmental degradation is a major concern, the effects of which are twofold. Once green spaces are reduced or completely gone, this can lead to the deterioration of air quality. The situation is even worsened by population growth that comes with the increased usage of cars and depletion of natural resources. Moreover, the lack or disappearance of green spaces can have less obvious but severe effects on people. City life has long been associated with increased stress levels, anxiety, and depression in people and having access to parks and gardens can serve as a perfect counterbalance. If people are deprived of these places due to urbanization, this can have a huge impact on people ’s mental well-being. In conclusion, there are the potential benefits to the construction of housing at the cost of parks and farmlands, such as the mitigation of housing problems and improved quality of life. That said, the negative consequences of such a development are more significant, considering its impact on the environment and people ’s mental health. Therefore, urban designers should not disregard the importance of green spaces in cities.