A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Nowadays tourism generates a significant portion of the national income for many countries, but it has certain drawbacks too. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of the developed tourism industry are a boost to the country’s economy and a large number of new job openings for the locals. To begin with, tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation, food and medical services. In this way, tourism yields an additional income, which can greatly support the country’s economy. Secondly, tourism increases the level of employment within a country by creating new jobs in different sectors of the economy. For instance, the influx of tourists results in a larger demand for restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employees of retail services. Consequently, business owners are prompted to hire more people to fill these positions. On the other hand, it should be noted that tourism also has some major disadvantages like the destruction of popular and pristine tourist destinations along with the development of illegal economic activities. Ancient buildings, temples and monuments are ill-equipped to cope with the vast amount of visitors. For example, many tourists have desecrated world heritage sites like the Great Pyramids of Giza, due to their ignorance and the resulting loss of such precious historical artefacts is immeasurable. Furthermore, the presence of a considerable number of wealthy tourists often carrying valuables such as cameras and jewellery catches the attention of criminals and result in an increase in activities like robbery and drug dealing. However, proper hospitality management and correct usage of tourism revenue by the local government can eliminate these disadvantages. To conclude, although tourism can have certain negative effects like the destruction of cultural heritage sites and the growth of the crime rate, it also has an extremely positive influence on country’s economy and provides a large number of new jobs for the local people. I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks. Governments should invest more effort, in terms of time and money, into organizing and managing the tourism sector.