A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, the popularity of social dignity and material possessions are more popular variables than old values to consider somebody respectable. I strongly agree that valuable belongings and position are more important aspects compared to principles in the modern age. The visibility of those aspects and the changing values in the population are the reasons why folk are likely to summarise a human's worth by prestige and material ownership rather than idealism. Firstly, a rich man's belongings which reflect his social prominence are visible to the naked eye. For instance, a character who publicly drives a fancy car as well as wears a designer bag and dines in a fancy restaurant is widely accepted as a high-class individual by today's culture, while those who hold noble principles are not always known by the public. The undisputable exclusive image from the possessions of expensive things grows the crowd's admiration towards wealthy people's worth. Therefore, communities with higher social situations and exclusive ownership are generally accepted to be worthy. Secondly, the values of humanity have shifted from generation to generation. One clear example is the principle of workers from older generations which honours dedication towards their companies, in contrast with the youngsters who put the highest respect on the employees who can maintain their mental health from work-life balance practices. If civilization consists of different generations with various principles, then the idealism to consider a life's worth will always be debatable. Thus, it is irrelevant to determine the worth of an individual by their noble values. To summarise, it is undeniable that a human's worth is now widely considered by his/her social stature and material possessions instead of values. This is because those aspects can be seen objectively, while the agreed values among companies have shifted between eras which makes them disputable.