Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

One of the most controversial issues today relates to learning English as a second language at school. While some people agree that English can be really important for future careers, other individuals believe that outweighing it can bring local language extinction. In this essay, I am going to discuss why it is important to learn English as well as preserve the traditions and study the local language. On the one hand, the English language is really important as, despite that people can communicate with other English -speaking nations all around the world, it helps to build up a future career. Teaching the English language to kids at school can help the students achieve their goals in the future. For instance, if the student hopes to study abroad after graduation, having an English language background in advance would save him time till admission for managing other documentation issues. On the other hand, language is one of the keys that build the traditions of some countries. By learning the mother tongue at school or by communicating with other native speakers, despite the fact of preserving the local language from distinction, people maintain local traditions, which lay their roots far in history. For example, the recent Forbes research about one of Africa’s nations showed that the nation which switched to the English language hardly remembers its past and the stories that its ancestors used to tell, while the other nation of a small village in South Africa honours the language as a treasure because of its originality and history, which makes its natives stand out of other nations. In conclusion, I believe that both arguments have their merits. I think that learning English is highly valuable, because it is an international language which helps to build a successful career and to study abroad, however, mother tongues should always be learned by their natives, to avoid the traditions ' dying out.