Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problem does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local product?

A large pool of customers prefers buying famous brands ' items because most big businesses have spent large funding on the publicization of products and advertising. The essay discovers issues that are aroused by this economic behavior, and lists approaches to persuade individuals to buy local items. A significant problem of big commerce is that it can hurt small- business profitability. Moreover, a decreasing number of owners would like to start their businesses, and local brands will disappear. If local people prefer to buy more famous brands ' products since they have more chances to know the relevant information about these products by watching advertisements. Small business owners cannot earn much money due to the lack of customers, certainly, most of them cannot keep their business, because making a profit is a major goal for economic behavior. For instance, when popular restaurant brands (e.g., KFC) came to China, a common local fast-food restaurant (e.g., Country Style Cooking) was gone. Hence big corporations has led to unfair economic competition and damage to local business. In order to protect local small businesses, some effective methods will be proposed. Firstly, local governments are responsible for allocating funding to help local business owners do marketing. Secondly, social media should have a responsibility to modify the public's attitude about buying preferences, such as educating the importance of protecting local brands. These manners will be useful since the media and authorities have more power and platforms to complete difficult tasks, which change ordinary people's opinions; hence, governments and social media play a crucial role in encouraging customers to buy local products. In summary, big businesses have more opportunities to get more profit, as they have big budgets to do promotion, while this economic behavior can harm small businesses ' profitability. Ergo, local institutions, and media can address this problem in some ways, including allocating funding to local businesses ' advertisements and publicing the perspective of protecting the local business to citizens.