In recent times, many people have focused on the negative effects advertising has on children’s health, behaviour and family relationships. Advertising to children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is an old and cherised way for companies and industries to communicate with their consumers. It is used thouroghly today – probably more than it ever have been in the past. This gives consumers a major flow of products and they have the freedom of choice before buying. However, has it not become too much? Are the consumers not overly saturated? The extreme flow of advertisement accessible to the everyday human has become a critical problem. An example of this is the massive amount of money spent by people who see advertisements on products that they never even needed. This can cause addictive behaviours and hoarding tendencies which ultimately compromises the health of the person. Kids are exposed to advertisements more now than ever before and it is a problem because they see content that are aimed at adults. An example of overexposure to advertisements for kids are mobile phone games and video games. The advertisements pop up every 5 minutes and it encourages them to try another game or buy something. It can create behavioural problems with addictive tendencies and a lack of focus because they are disturbed all the time. Additionally, it encourages them to spend more time with the device which can have long-term effects on their health. Overall, I conclude that the overexposure to advertisements are the problem and not the advertisement itself. I therefore don’t agree with the statement that advertisements should be banned however they should be limited and restricted from kids. An in my opinion it should also be restricted for adults