Some people say material possessions are very useful in bringing us happiness, but others argue that they are useless in terms of providing happiness. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While some opponents believe that the level of happiness has a direct relation with owning stuff, proponents argue otherwise. Possessing materials can increase the satisfaction level of many individuals; however, it can have a detrimental impact on their mental health. I am of the belief that possessing physical materials will not increase the level of happiness and will put individuals under financial stress. On one hand, possessing a wide variety of materials can activate a sense of satisfaction inside a person. In other words, feeling superior to others is a man's innate nature that brings happy feelings; consequently, when a person owns a lot of things compared to his peers might enable him to boast about them by sharing and posting them on different platforms. As a result, he will feel superior to others and this what is justified the happiness feelings. For instance, an article published in Time magazine, reveals that purchasing and possessing products can significantly increase dopamine levels, the hormone that is responsible for happiness, inside our bodies. Thus, there are hormonal changes inside us that happen regularly whenever an individual owns a new product; therefore, there is a direct connection between happiness and material possessions. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned point, it can still be argued that happiness is directly linked to the psychological well-being of individuals regardless of how many products they have. To illustrate, feeling happy is a mental state that could be achieved by surrounding themselves with a positive environment at their home, as well as, work. In addition to that owning items can lead to dire consequences such as addiction to buying stuff on a regular basis. Therefore, many people will end up having a serious financial burden that could put them under constant pressure which, in turn, may result in suicidal thoughts. This can be exemplified by a survey conducted by a group of Iraqi psychologists who classified material possessions as one of the most common and dangerous psychological disorders of this era. What can be said here is that having a wide variety of items does guarantee that a person will be happier than before. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned principles, it can be claimed that although material possessions can radiate a sense of superiority and satisfaction,could also have a detrimental impact on their psychological health. I adopt the view that material possessions are severe and dangerous traits and we should not depend on to pursue happiness.