Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, advertisements play a key role in selling products, in which their extent of effectiveness outweighs the real needs of consumers. I completely agree with this opinion. Big companies around the world study people's interests by collecting data from social media like Instagram and Facebook. Then, they select some target groups for their products, which they maneuver on them in the advertisements. Companies create a feeling of a need for their goods on these target groups. For example, Apple released a new iPhone, then removed the old headphones from its packaging. They started extended advertising about wireless iPad which was interesting for the people who followed new technology. As a result, it became a best selling product. Today, most iPhone users buy an iPad as well. While using mobile phones, laptops, computers, watching TV programs or reading billboards across the city and etc... many advertisements can be seen in a frequent way. Even people may see their favorite celebrities or influencers of social media in commercials of products. Every year, companies spend a lot of money on advertising and sign expensive contracts with famous people such as actors or athletes as their advertising models. As a result of being exposed to such a huge amount of advertising, people will be curious to try the products and use them even if they don’t really need these goods. Therefore, the amount of purchases increases. To sum up, I believe there is a lot of knowledge behind the advertising industry which leads the advertised product become a bestseller by gathering consumers data and influencing the target groups.