Young people spend too much money and time following fashion trends (clothing , tech.) What is the reason ? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many teenagers spend a huge amount of money and time to follow the trends in fashion such as clothing and technology. I believe there are two main reasons why this phenomenon happen and why this leads to negative development. There are at least two reasons that drive young people to spend much of their money to follow the trends. First, many teenagers nowadays are highly exposed to social media. They spend most of their time scrolling to an endless feeds and information on their gadget, which leads them to be exposed by current trends in society. For instance, many people try to follow the fashion trend of their favorite idols that they saw on the internet. Second, many brands of fashion and technology have a rapid changes of the product that they launched. For instance, fast fashion brand can launch numerous of fashion products in a year. This will make many young people want to buy all of the items so they will not be out of trend. Despite of the advantages, this phenomenon can lead to negative development. First, the rapid changes of trends will make young people become more consumptive. They buy something not because they need that item, but because they just want to follow the trends. This kind of lifestyle will bring negative impact to them because they can not be mindful in terms of their consumption. Second, by buying something out of the urge to follow the trends makes people tend to pile up their items and this leads to the increasing amount of waste. In conclusion, young people spend much of their time and money to follow trends based on several reasons and this phenomenon leads to a negative development. To prevent the negative impact, people should buy something based on their needs, not based on the trends.