Some think the current generation should take steps to protect the environment for the next generation. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

It’s a well known fact that humans have been polluting the environment for a long time. We can obviously feel it only in particular places of the globe, but most people around the world can’t really tell how vast the problem is. To find a real solution it’s important to keep in mind that there is no any specific company or person that could be considered accountable for ecological meltdown. The responsibility lies on every and each of us. The internal combustion engine is to be thanked for numerous technological and economic advantages during past 150 years. Previous generations faced so many crises, that they had no choice, but to come up with more and more advanced technologies in order to catch up with the rest of the world. One of the most vivid examples probably would be events of World War 2. The most brilliant minds across the globe tried to surpass the enemy with new military inventions. No one at that time really thought about the consequences on environment or even political changes that the Manhattan Project, for example, could have brought. Everyone was focused mainly on two things: either defeating the enemy or discovering new ways of making profit out of new technologies. Or it could be both. Now humanity has to carry this legacy of clueless capitalist mindset of the past. The modern world created by our ancestors is in urgent need for a global change. Unfortunately, few people realize that real steps must be made only with radical changes in the International Law system. Moreover, we need to revise our political and economic agendas. This is why it’s absolutely crucial to educate people on this problem, to talk about global warming in school and use media to spread awareness and inform people about how they can contribute. I am personally convinced that our generation is responsible for the future we will leave for our children to live in. Because right now the world is on the edge of a fatal catastrophe, and it’s our direct responsibility to take some actions. Everyone can contribute, but it’s not enough if governments do not rewrite and adapt new laws. Updating legislation to the current situation might take a considerable amount of time, so this is why we have to hurry up. In the end, there is no one else who will do it instead of us.