Some people believe that it is the responsibility of politicians, rather than individuals, to reduce the world’s environmental damage. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that politicians take more responsibility instead of individuals for reducing the world’s environmental damage. Proponents claim that the government has the power to resolve issues while opponents argue that change in consumer behaviour can better tackle this problem. In my point of view, I believe the latter offers a more comprehensive solution and I’m going to explain some reasons below. Firstly, one of the main reasons is that several non-governmental organizations have been making headway in the fight for a cleaner world. For example, student organizations are striving to promote awareness of the lifestyle changes that people can make to protect the environment. However, these autonomous organizations assist in putting a face to a message and actually urge individuals to change for the sake of the natural environment. Therefore, environmental programs do not have to be administered by the government to be effective. Citzen's contribution to global cleanup efforts should not be overlooked. Every person may assist in stopping and delaying the damage by reducing energy use and fossil fuel adoption. People should switch to energy-efficient lighting, improve the efficiency of home appliances, bring their shopping bags instead of using plastic, and use recycled products to reduce waste which can contaminate water resources. They should also use public transportation instead of their private vehicles to reduce the carbon dioxide emitted to the atmosphere. These small actions assist the environment. To summarize, governments should undertake worldwide environmental preservation, but this issue can not be effectively handled without the efforts of the citizens.