Many factured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been proven that products containing a lot of sugar catalyze numerous illnesses. Moreover, it is often contended that their prices should be made higher to prevent people from buying them. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea. In this essay, I will elaborate on its nature as an addictive and destructive matter for human beings while at the same time is not a prominent nutrition, particularly for children which will serve as the justification to surge its fare. First and foremost, excessive consumption of sugar is dangerous but inevitable for folks who have been addicted to its sweetness. The undeniable health drawbacks from such addiction include obesity, diabetes, and many other complex physical problems which often lead to mortality. One clear example in Indonesia is the death number of patients with diabetes is higher than the death toll caused by respiration illnesses produced by smoking habits. Therefore, leveraging the expense of sugary commodities which was applied previously towards cigarettes and other nicotine products is a serious attempt to lower the consumption of sugary products in wider society. Secondly, sugar is not paramount for human nutrition fulfilment, unlike animal-based protein which is significantly needed especially by children to prevent stunting. For instance, if families from lower economic backgrounds cannot afford sugar -containing food frequently, there will be no harm for them. On the contrary, it will be more beneficial since the circumstances will make them choose healthier but less expensive alternatives instead of sugary commodities. Thus, the designated fee jump of sweet products will not be at the expense of less fortunate communities. To conclude, there can be no doubt that leveraging the amount of sugary feed is an effective innovation to encourage people to lower their sweet intake through fractured food and beverages due to its various health threats. Sugar has proven to be a dangerous material for an individual's physique and is not a significant part of human nutrition needs.