Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The government ’s policy to provide free access to all citizens in pursuing higher education at the college and university level still remains debatable. I strongly believe that the authority should prioritize free education as a fundamental need of their citizens to alleviate their economic level. However, there are also several considerations needed in regard to budget constraints and other priorities of government roles. To begin with, education is the key point to unlocking individual potential so they can get a decent job to enhance their welfare. For example, Indonesia provides a government scholarship scheme called LPDP to support its citizens in pursuing higher education, specifically supporting those who want to study abroad. Based on the Ministry of Education and Culture survey in 2019, most of the awardees who are coming from middle and lower-income statuses get a higher salary after graduation. Therefore, the education scholarship allows them to break ties and help their families in terms of economic scale. In addition, Indonesia with its vibrant culture and heterogeneous society can benefit from its investment in democratizing education. In matters of equal rights for all races and religions, this could help indigenous community from Indonesia, who lack education access due to the economy, have an opportunity to equip themselves with a broad knowledge and give back to their home. For example, there was an awardee from the Baduy Indigenous people who had an opportunity to study anthropology at the University of Indonesia with a government scholarship. Therefore, they can help the government in achieving a national economic building across the region in Indonesia, specifically in Banten province. However, it is a fact that the government also has other priorities such as security, healthcare system, and many more. Thus, the budget is limited and needs thorough research and consideration in creating a wise approach. Providing a free education can be a hard decision for developing countries such as Indonesia —considering the restricted budget and other priorities. In addition, there are also people who are coming from higher income status and able to backing their education independently yet it should be noted that only 10% of population in Indonesia belong to this income group. Therefore, free education still needs to be prioritized. In conclusion, I strongly agree that free education is a good practice to support human resources development, specifically in developing countries. With many positive benefits from this policy, many countries like Indonesia can alleviate their status from developing to developed countries with well-equipped citizens as government assets to accelerate the country’s development.