some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required discuss both views and give your own opinion

In regard to increasing number of unfit people, it is pivotal for the society to improve public health. Some argued that increasing number of sport facility will aid to healthier society, while others argued otherwise and suggested to provide other measures. While both statements hold merit, I will discuss underlying reasons for both views and provide my opinion. Adding more sport facilities aim to encourage public utilisation which leads to healthier society. Whilst it might have positive outcome, expanding sport facilities only benefit those who could not exercise due to this specific limitation. However, I believe the number of people with this issue is low. In my apartment, for instance, gym and other facilities such as swimming pool or running track are provided for 35-storey building however users of these facilities are fewer than 10% of total residents. Thus, the impact of having more public sport facilities would be limited. I believe other measures, such as sharing awareness of healthy lifestyle and creating habit of doing physical activities, will better to create healthier generations. People tend to underestimate the importance of healthy lifestyle until it is already too late. Simple actions like performing stretching once in a while are needed especially for those performing sedentary lifestyle or else, they might reap the consequences when they are older. By socializing the long-term effect, people may start consciously choosing better lifestyle for themselves. In addition, it is recommended to have sports as compulsory subject as early as possible to nurture positive habit. For example, children who keen to swim will eventually encourage the immediate family to do it with them, resulting healthier behaviour for the whole family. In my opinion, preserving habit of healthier lifestyle will have greater impact for public health. In conclusion, to prevent degradation of health in the society I think it is better to fostering healthier habit since kindergarten in addition to consistently performing socialization about the impact of healthy lifestyle than to add various number of sport facilities.