Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Occasionally, in job interviews individuals are asked about their personal life. A group of people believe that this data is useful and can be related to the required position. However, another group thinks the opposite. I completely agree with the second group. Some employers suppose that asking personal questions will help them decide whether the job seeker is suitable for the role or not. Hobbies, interests, and marital status are examples of this type of personal information that may help employers select the right person. For example, someone who likes reading books might be suitable for a librarian or bookstore seller rather than one who watches TV in his spare time. Another useful knowledge is marital status. Factors such as the possibility of working overtime or having family responsibilities can be important depending on the position. On the other hand, the second point of view talks about how personal information should not affect the hiring process. There are more important criteria such as university education, relevant certifications and, work experience. While recruitment, these criteria should be considered, not private information. There are many people whose private lives are completely different from their personalities at work, so this knowledge cannot accurately help employers. Lastly, all individuals should have equal opportunities for job positions apart from their personal lives and finally be selected according to their merits. In conclusion, I believe everyone should compete equally for a role and should be chosen based on more serious criteria like academic study or expertise.