As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what extend do you agree or disagree.

In today's world, there is an ongoing debate regarding whether learning foreign languages is necessary as computers can translate quickly and accurately. While some argue that it is a waste of time to learn foreign languages instead of using computers, I strongly disagree with this perspective. To begin with, individuals can broaden their horizons by learning foreign languages. Since the language is directly connected to the culture in which it is used, individuals can gain insight into foreign cultures as well. For instance, I was able to understand the judicial system in the United States of America when I studied law-related English vocabulary. As this shows, learning a new language provide invaluable opportunities to widen one's perspective on different cultures, leading to personal growth. Furthermore, learning new languages also helps individuals to improve their communication skills. Exchanging conversations is fundamental when it comes to learning foreign languages, naturally contributing to enhanced communication skills. In fact, a number of research have shown that speaking in a foreign language leads to increased creativity, which is a critical element for future success. This clearly demonstrates that individuals can benefit from learning foreign languages. In conclusion, while some contend that learning foreign languages are unnecessary due to an advanced computer technology that provides quick and accurate translations, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint. Learning new languages offers invaluable opportunities to appreciate other cultures and enhance communication skills, ultimately fostering personal growth. Thus, I believe that it is absolutely necessary to learn foreign languages.