Under British and Australia laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record . This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case . Do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that some law professionals object to the British and Australian law that the jury has no entrance to the criminal record of the denfendants. In my opinion, I agree with the changing the law. First of all, accessing the previous criminal documents help the court to reduce a wrong decision. The jury know all the behavior of denfendants and criminal record both old and new which might be important in locating the missing a piece of puzzle and get a general view of each case. The case of an old man in 2008 in Tay Nguyen is a perfect example, he got freed after 10 years in prison because the trial has no connect with all his previous history documents and took a snap 10-year prison by killing. Therefore, any information of denfendant defendants involved in the inquiry is critical to uncovering the truth and the jury should be know to make a good decision. Furthermore, I think access to the criminal record would be more equitable with the first offenders. Repeated bad behaviors should be hard punishment than the first one. For instance, people who are under presure about daily life can theft some food from a grocery store in the first time, they could be diminished the legal responsibility. Otherwise, lawbreakers who have a prior should get more strictly punishment. So that, approaching the defendant’s criminal record effect the decision of the judge and create more opportunities for the first offense. In conclusion, law that preserve the defendant’s information should be changed. The court will be make a informed decision and their verdicts can go wrong and risk the live of innocent people.