Some young people like to copy the behavior and clothes of famous people today. Why might this be the case? What problem can it cause?

Nowadays, certain young individuals tend to imitate celebrities behavior and fashion because they view those famous people as their role models. This issue is still debatable as people hold different opinions on what are the causes and effects of this behavior. In my aspect, this imitation found in youngsters is the result of the prevalence of social media which leads to an excessive desire for a luxurious and ostentatious lifestyle, and this behavior causes youngsters to lose their individuality for wanting to be someone else. With the regard to the cause, celebrity imitation behavior found among people is attributed to social media consumption. Social media is full of fabricated content showing off lifestyle and fashion as people tend to try to look perfect online in order to gain likes and comments. Especially, the celebrities who need to maintain high social media engagement for their monetary return in careers. The case is that when the followers, especially the young ones, consume these perfect posts from celebrities they easily feel jealous and intimidated as youngsters are still mentally vulnerable and not confident. As a result, young people start to copy the lifestyle and fashion of these famous people. The subsequent problems found in young people are the loss of individuality and never- ending demands. Imitation of celebrity behavior can prevent youngsters from finding their true lifestyles such as hobbies or fashion. They sacrifice their vulnerable adolescents time to copy celebrities instead of finding themselves which will significantly damage their sense of individuality. Also, the imitation of affluent celebrities will cause incessant demands as those vulnerable young adolescents will believe that purchasing the same material items that those celebrities possess will bring them closer to become those famous icons. To summarize, the prevalence of social media which shows the ideal life of celebrities urges young individuals to imitate the behavior and styles of famous people. As a result, those youngsters ’ self-confidence is susceptible; therefore, this imitation behavior can easily damage their individuality and stimulate unnecessary demands.