In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Eating too much fast food causes a lot of health problems and numbers are rapidly increase day by day in many counties. Governments try to solve this problem by imposing a higher taxes on this kind of food. Since eating junk food has become kind of addiction almost comparable to alcohol and drug addiction, I find this solution not effective. The necessity of implementing high taxes on fast food might be very useless simply because people are more than ready to pay high prices when they become addicted to junk food, moreover even with the highest taxes the junk food is still comparably cheaper than fresh healthy produce. Although, it may lead to consume less fast food in the beginning of the implementation of higher taxes, but when people get used to a new price, they will continue to eat junk food. Some study shows that the fast food it is kind of addiction similar with drug or alcohol addiction. Once you become addicted to a junk food nothing will stop you to buy a new portion of burger and French fries. It happens because the majority of fast food have a lot of sugar, fat and salt that makes food tastier. For example, some European countries significantly decreased the prices on cigarettes, but it didn’t help to solve the problem with smoking. It as readily apparent that implanting high taxes cannot reduce the consumption of fatty and sugary food items, as well as smoking. In conclusion, it is obviously that this kind of attempt like imposing high taxes cannot solve the problem with consuming fast food. People are become addicted to junk food because of many unhealthy components in it and the expensive price will not stop them to continue buy it.