Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

It is often argued that everyone should be entitled to attend tertiary education free regardless of their financial background. While there is no denying that this thinking is justifiable to a certain extent, it seems to me that abolishing tuition fees is not a wise choice. On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons why people advocate provision of free-of-charge education. One of the key factors is believed to be the reduction of inequalities as well as the greater promotion to social mobility. Waiving tuition can equally provide opportunities to each learner as their capacity assessment should not be underestimated by family conditions which is crucial to their chance of landing higher-paid job. Another conclusive reason, by providing free-of charge education, the government can take advantage of it as a way to boost student’s motivation and engagement which is a determinant for the future of a country. Futhermore, it is clear that personal concerns about financial burdens will possibly be eliminated, broadening chance to enrich life experience. On the other hand, it should also be acknowledged that abolishing tuition fees is flawed as it lead to some concerning drawbacks. First of all, free tuition takes responsibility for the enormous costs of facilities and educated workforce which put a strain on government coffers. Moreover, motivation and effort are no longer stable since their financial obligation was distributed which can result in skipping class and rapidly decreases the education qualify. In conclusion, besides some potential advantages of free-college policy, I’m convinced that there are also some alarming downsides that need to be carefully considered.