Today high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold. To extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a big number of commercials of popular consumer products describe the advertising power instead of the actual needs of the people in which they are sold. I strongly agree with this context, it is caused by several reasons. Firstly, people prefer to follow the newest trends in social media platforms advertisement. There are a lot of media that have become popular to use in society. For instance tiktok. Before the feature of tik tok shops was banned in my country, Tiktok became the one of the easiest applications that could upload photos and videos, sell and purchase the product. Many entrepreneurs and resellers utilise the tiktok as a promotion place by uploading several photos and videos that are related with the particular products that they sold, and attached a shopping link on tiktok shop feature. This has become big advantages for entrepreneurs, moreover sometimes if the videos and photos go viral and raise a million comments of people that include their testimonials after using the particular product, it will attract the audiences that have viewed these videos or photos advertisements become curious and rapidly check out the products instead of consider about the main needs that must fulfil in daily life. Secondly, Some brands also collaborate with the influencers or famous people on social media to promote their products. The advantages of technology makes everything that we made before become viral, it causes some people to become popular and have millions of followers. Several brands harness this situation as a “golden moment” to offer a collaboration with those people in order to ask them to introduce and promote their products to their audience or followers through live video or feed and stories. It also was a big possibility to cooperate with people that have occupations in the entertainment world, to advertise their commercial product through film or series to attract the consumer rather than thinking about what the actual need that society has to purchase. In summary, I strongly believe that advertisement is playing a crucial role in the commercial field, it shows that there are many people that prefer to buy the goods rather than the basic needs. It is caused by several reasons such as people prefer to follow the newest trends in social media platforms advertisement and some brands also collaborate with the influencers or famous people on social media to promote their products.