Government Intervention in the Economy: Some people believe that governments should regulate the economy, while others argue that the economy should be allowed to regulate itself. Discuss both views and give your opinion in 250 words.

Some people think that the state should control the economy while others believe that the economy should be able to regulate itself. I will take 2 examples, one with a command economy where the government regulates every aspect of the economy and one with a free market economy where the government has no control over the economy. North Korea is reputed for its very strict command economy, every single aspect of the economy there is controlled by the government. Every single trade whether it is a service or a good is provided by the government and approved by the supreme leader. The tax and bank systems are under government control and not respecting government policies on economies is a serious crime punished by the death penalty. On the other hand, Singapore is renowned for its free market economy with more or less no government intervention. All of the big companies, providing electricity, water etc... are privat. There are almost no regulations on the economy except a few for legal reasons. It seems to be working really well for Singapore as since they have institutionalized an open and corruption-free environment, their inflation remained low, and their GDP per capita is some of the highest in the world. In my opinion, a free market economy is a much healthier economic system for a country. It permits people to start businesses and to make their own way through the world. Free market economies don’t only benefit rich CEOs and company owners, they also benefit less wealthy people as they can have a chance at anything. In conclusion, command economies are more or less a dictatorial, communist economy that gives no freedom to the people while on the other hand free market economies are strong economies that basically gives all the freedom to the people and lets them create their businesses in order to give a chance to everyone. This is why i prefer free market economies.