Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Jobs nowadays, requires specialist skills, as a result most do not see the need to study academic subjects like history or social studies. These courses are sometimes believed not to have any benefit when studied. I will explain both the advantages and disadvantages of studying these academic subjects. Having knowledge of academic discipline such as history or social studies have its beneficial purposes. Individuals will be able to have vast ideas of both past and current happenings in the environment. For instance current affairs, cultural practices and also politics. This will help them to be conversant with what is going on in their surroundings. Furthermore, with the understanding of history or social studies, when in social gathering that requires such discussion, it will enable full participation and intelligent conversation among individuals. Also when people are aware of their country’s history this pave way for social development. It will enable them know what is going on in the country and make movement for change and progress. On the other hand, most believe that having to take academic subjects like history or social studies is a distraction from their main courses. They see it as a waste of time, with it having no relevance to their desired field of study. Also the students believes that history or social studies is difficult to learn, as such they only memorize it to pass, thereby forgetting it after the exam and not having any retentive knowledge of the work. In addition majority believe this subjects are not necessary, thereby they do not take interest in it. In conclusion, academic subjects such as history or social studies has both its advantages and disadvantages. I believe the advantages are greater than the disadvantages. It is important to individuals and will be beneficial in the long run. As such, irrespective of career choices, it should be included in school curriculum for all to learn.