Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Death penalty should be given to hard-core criminals who are ant-social elements. On the other hand, one can say that death sentence is not the only solution to any crime committed but also the heinous criminals could be brought to justice by sentencing them for life imprisonment. This essay examines the advantages and disadvantages of awarding a person with a death sentence who wronged the society. To begin with, a sentence of life in prison is disproportionate to the capital crime.The wrongdoers who commit heinous crime such as homicide, vandalism so on and so forth should not be shown any mercy and should be punished seriously. It is equally important to consider the seriousness of the illegal activity committed by the offender and also punishing hard-core criminals with death sentence would also create awareness among the citizens making them think twice before indulging in any serious offence knowingly or unknowingly. To cite an example, terrorists who are anti-social elements spreading terror in a country or world-wide is hanged till death, will not only be an eye-opener to the other people who want to indulge in serious and heinous crimes. Therefore, capital punishment is necessary for the people based on the crime committed. People who are petty thieves to survive must be remanded in prisons and be given an opportunity to lead an honest life in the society. Secondly, capital punishment is the ultimate denial of human rights when implemented.Not all human beings are born criminals. Situations and circumstances make them an anti-social element. Some people to sustain themselves in the present competitive world, indulge in petty crimes such as shoplifting and robbing. In addition, unemployment in all walks of life also plays a spoilsport and tempting people to take wrong decisions. To demonstrate; people living below the poverty line are promised greener pastures in the urban areas and are victimised to thieving to sustain themselves with basic necessities such as food and shelter. In continuation, such small convicts can be remanded and be provided with employment opportunities reducing the crime rate. Convicting a person with capital punishment or imprisonment should be imposed looking into various parameters such as the type of crime committed and the frequency of the illegal activity committed. Last but not the least, one should not judge a book by its cover. Keeping in mind the age of the criminal and the type of crime committed, the judicial custody should determine whether to sentence the person with death warrant or life imprisonment to make the offender understand the effect of a crime on the victim. To put it in a nutshell, as the saying goes a coin has both the sides, likewise sentencing a person with death warrant or life imprisonment depends on the crime committed.