Many newspapers, magazines and television programmes make money by reporting on the private lives of public figures such as politicians, sports personalities and entertainers. While the media's right to freedom of expression should be defended, the media should not intrude into people's private affairs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

​​It has been increasingly common for the media to make public the private lives of the elite and celebrities against their will. Some may argue that such practice is warranted owing to the media ’s freedom of speech, while others disagree strongly with it because it is a violation of personal privacy. The primary reason why the media should not intrude into people’s private lives is that everyone is entitled to privacy. In particular, celebrities whose personal dealings, interactions with families and friends are put to the spotlight might feel distressed. Moreover, most of the news about celebrities’ private affairs serve no constructive purpose other than satisfying one’s curiosity about trivial matters. Indeed, nobody’s privacy or comfort zone should be encroached upon for this reason. Another important justification for protecting individual privacy from media scrutiny despite the media ’s entitlement to freedom of speech is that an individual’s private affairs only have to be exposed when it is of interest to the public. Additionally, the manner in which the individual’s private affairs are looked into and publicised should accord with laws and social norms, which is unlikely to be achieved by newspapers and tabloid journalists but can be achieved by professional investigators and spokesperson of law enforcement agencies. Overall, individual privacy should be respected, therefore, the media should not intrude into anyone’s private lives just for the sake of making profits. As far as upholding justice and serving the right of the public to be informed are concerned, dissemination of details about private lives of individuals would better be handled by official authorities and should not be left to the media, which often abuse their freedom of speech and earn revenue at the expense of individual’s privacy.