Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Setting up your own business is very charming for various people these days instead of being a salaried employee. Although there are some advantages of being free-lancer, I would argue that this business model includes some drawbacks for people. There are various reasons why people want to be free-lancers and build their working system. First of all, many employees usually tackle the problems their bosses or managers impose and their demands. Additionally, the managers consciously put pressure on employees and try to control them. These pressures can be a trigger effect for many people. Secondly, several people endeavor to escape to their corporate jobs and then want to set up their own small business even if the target is not related to their field such as, opening their own coffee shop or restaurant, being a florist, designer etc. Nonetheless, there are some negative side effects about being self-employed. One problem may be that these people usually make a huge investment in their new job and should wait to make a profit, which can be a challenging long period for them. Mostly, many people change their decisions because of financial issues and they start job hunting. Another problem could be that a free-lancer usually works alone. However, some fields always need teamwork and task sharing which might be tough for some people in working process. Finally, the majority of self-employed people prefer to work in their home. The people may feel a lack of self-discipline in their career and cannot organize work-life balance. Hence, they probably face some social and professional problems. In conclusion, while many people desire to start their own business, they have to deal with a number of negative consequences.