In modern life, it is no longer necessary to use animals as food and in other products like clothing and medicines. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there is an on going discussion, that it is not necessary in this modern life, to use animals as food and in other products like clothing and medicines. If questioned to me, i would strongly agree with this statement. Detailed explanation with examples are provided in the following write-ups. Firstly, we can say that, in this modern life there is no requirement to use animal products, we always have alternative options ready, like instead of wearing pure leather clothes, a person could wear cotton clothes. In earlier time there were no other facilities, so they did not have other options, but now there are many options available.  Adding to this, we can say no to usage of animal products, as we don't use animal products without harming animals, animals also have life, so we should not harm them, instead we should respect them, we should not exploit them for owns benefit. However, some public may say that using animal products is harmless to the animals, but for this statement, they should visit the poultry farm and see the process. Adding to this, they would also say that eating animals are high in protein, which is really needed by our body to grow and to make muscles. To sum up, i think that the humans are following the path of cruelty, which should be stopped. In a report it is said that around 60 billion chickens are killed every year. So the generation should become vegan, and should not harm animals.