These days people are using the internet for shopping, work and to communicate with others without the need for face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

It is observed that people have relied on untact internet so as to do shopping, work and communicate. This essay will demonstrate that the merits of this trend supersede its demerits. To begin with, there are some reasons why face-to-face connection is needed. One of the main reasons for this contention is that the online medium cannot deliver exact information. For example, if people communicate through the internet, it is not possible to recognize the non-verbal factors such as an expression and a gesture, which complement the meaning of a conversation. Furthermore, when people do online shopping, they can just speculate on the real texture and colors. In spite of the reason mentioned above, I am of the opinion that non-face-to-face businesses have a variety of advantages. For one thing, people can do what they want where and when they would like, being free from restraint of time and space. For instance, working out of home makes a lot of employees’ office hours flexible, improving their quality of life. Moreover, people who have the intention of learning pilates do not need to regularly go to a face-to-face class, instead they can work out late at night through an indirect online class. Secondly, the online connection is usually cheaper than the offline one. Case in point, people who live in Seoul can freely communicate with a friend who lives in Berlin in real-time. If they try to physically be connected to a friend, it costs a lot. In addition, commonly, online shopping has more reasonable prices rather than brick-and-mortar store. In conclusion, considering all these arguments, it is clear that, although some untact contact communication has a few disadvantages, the benefits of this phenomenon seem to continue to outbalance the drawbacks.