Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is observed that the vehicles including private cars and motorcycles are proscribed on particular days in many cities. This essay will demonstrate the merits of this phenomenon can partly supersede its demerits. To begin with, there are some reasons why the ban on private cars is disadvantageous. For one thing, it provides citizens with an inconvenience inasmuch as they cannot directly reach to the destination with their cars. If driving cars is prohibited, they might have to unnecessarily transfer in order to go to the same place, using public transportation. Furthermore, there could be some people who live in the region where it is hard to access to public transit. In spite of the reason mentioned above, I support the notion that the implementation of vehicle-free days has more upper hand. One of the main reasons for this contention is that it has positive effects on alleviate air pollution. The emission of carbon dioxide can dwindle because of the restraint of driving private cars. For example, unless people use buses and subways which can accommodate hundreds of commuters, there are hundreds of cars on the street which give off fumes. Secondly, this scheme can solve the traffic congestion, reducing the number of driven cars. People cannot only get faster to the destination but also enjoy the less crowded city as long as the dense traffic diminishes. In a nutshell, considering all these reasons, it is clear that, although there are a few downsides to the restriction of private cars, the benefits seem to outbalance the disadvantages.