Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area.How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Small local shops are shutting down as a consequence of huge competition from large supermarkets in the locality. This will allow supermarkets to create a monopoly and raise prices. This situation can be dealt with by allocating subsidies to small stores. Firstly, by creating a monopoly large stores can exploit their customers, meaning local communities. Supermarkets can raise the prices of their commodities, such as dairy products. As a result, local communities would have to spend more of their income on products required on a daily basis. Therefore, Expenditure on leisure activities will go down and local communities may not prosper. For example, Hamid Super Store located in Hyderabad sky-rocketed their good's prices as a result of local stores closing down, which led lots of individual to pause other leisure activities. Government providing subsidies to local shop owners would mean that entrepreneur would be able to lower the prices of the products. Therefore, Locals would be able to buy at lower prices. Moreover, a shop owner who was allocated subsidy by the government would also earn profit. As a result, both the consumer and service provider will be beneficiaries. For example, the the Government of Pakistan granted many shopowners with huge subsidies, and as a result, many poor individuals benefited In conclusion, to destroy monopoly, and assist local shopper and shopkeeper subsidies could create a huge difference. Thus, helping all the stakeholders of the economy.