Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that an increasing number of individuals choose to work for themselves, rather than working for other companies. This essay would argue that the main reason of this is that people feel more free when they are self-employed, while the main drawbacks are high risk and stress. On the one hand, people who have their own business have more liberty. This is because when individuals work for others, they need to follow rules. But if they are self-employed, they do not need to listen to what others ask them to do, instead, they are the ones that tell others what they need to do. Also, people are more free because they can work from where they want and when they want. For example, normally freelancers of big companies do not go to work every day, only when there is something urgent or to ensure that everything is in order, while the other time, they can do other activities. On the other hand, self-employed people are more exhausted. The high competition in the market, make people worry about their business, since they are not sure if it will success or not, also, they need to look for solutions if there are any problems. Furthermore becoming a freelancer is very risky. This is because individuals need to invest high amount of money to create their business. People can go to bankrupt if the company does not work well, and they lose everything they invested. For instance, many people who had had a successful business, fell into bankruptcy from one day to another, losing everything they had and had a large amount of debts that they needed to pay. In conclusion, individuals prefer to be freelancers because they are more free, although there are drawbacks such as high risk rate and people are more exhausted.