People who go live in other countries should follow their customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, an increasing number of people who live overseas neglect their cultural background. There is an opinion that it is important to stick to traditions and customs in order to demonstrate respect to the family and ancestors, while others think differently. I also disagree with this statement, and this essay will explain why. To begin, participating in cultural events as well as following traditional rituals are unnecessary for immigrants. The main reason is that foreign countries hold their own cultural activities which are vital to acknowledge for understanding local citizens and their lives. Furthermore, this will help newcomers to gain essential information about another nation along with getting familiar with specific events. For example, in Australia, there are many traditional events which are connected to sports activities, such as Australian football. On this day people have a public holiday and many families get together for dinner, watching sport afterwards. Additionally, it is crucial to focus on other cultural differences, such as accent, dialect and body language. Hence, this awareness will lead to the comprehension of native people's habits avoiding any misunderstandings. Take Indian residents for example, expressing themselves in a different way, when they say "yes" and "no". Consequently, knowing details of facial and body gestures is crucial for interacting with the foreigner. In conclusion, learning about a new country and its traditions must be a priority for new visitors who want to live abroad. By familiarizing themselves with the local customs, individuals not only foster a deeper connection with the community but also enhance their overall cultural experience. This cultural awareness contributes to smoother integration and promotes a more enriching and fulfilling stay in the foreign environment.