Some people think that an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some people consider that car-free days effectively decrease the air pollution, while others think there are other actions which are more impactful for minimalizing this global issue. In my opinion, I believe that both argument have positive impact for reducing air pollution, so these two methods should be combined. On the one hand, one group of people reckon that car-free days which is usually held in the weekend could reduce the air pollution. It is supported by a research that was conducted in 2022 by Environtmental Department, University of Indonesia and the result showed that six hours car-free days each weekend could reduce weekly air pollution approximately 10%. Furthurmore, the availability of fresh air that they get during those times, will increase the awearness and motivation people to reduce the use of vehicles. On the other hand, some people think that using electric vehicles and public transportations are more effective to reduce the air pollution rather than weekly car-free days event, especialy to the fossil fuel vehicles which are the biggest source of Carbon dioxide. Moreover, using public transportations, such as city buses and trains could increase the number of vehicles which will give direct positif effect to the air pollution. For example, a trans Jakarta bus - public city buses that are connected each other - could transport 20 people in one time it means it will dramatically decrease the car that are used daily. To sum up, car-free days, electric cars, and public transportations are effective to decline Carbon dioxide and I believe combining all these ways will give a better result. However, people should aware and participate this concept for reducing air pollution.