Young people are much more aware of and concerned about issues like the environment, poverty, and animal welfare than previous generations. What is your own opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the youth generations are more keen and perceptive toward several affairs such as those concerning the environment, poverty level, and animal protection in comparison to their preceding age groups. In my opinion, I agree that many of the younger people have a bigger interest for the mentioned topics. In this essay, I will dissect the reasons behind them from my own experiences and views. To start with, the environment is currently one of the most discussed topics throughout social media due to the statements of many scientists posted on many platforms about the possibly emerging climate change. Consequently, this planted worries and concerns of the coming climate change in the youth’s minds, evidenced by the emergence of various environment and go green awareness campaigns. One of the possible reason that made the youths to be more concerned about this affair is based on how they are the generation that will live the impact in their later stage of life. Meanwhile, the older generations are not as worried because some of them feel that they won’t live long enough to be affected by the adverse impact, even though they are the one who has done more exploitations to the environment. The next discourse that is also very popular is the attention towards the poor and financially unstable group of people. For example, the birth of various donation and social welfare start-up companies such as KitaBisa and campaign.com are enabling a considerable amount of people to be a fundraiser. As a result, many young people are now helping unfortunate people around them, such as their neighbors that does not have the resource and exposure to get help by simply posting the persons background and purpose of the donations. Simultaneously, the new platform also help to ease the hassle for someone to donate their money for others. Lastly, concerns regarding animal welfare and how to stop the abuse towards them are becoming more apparent throughout the youngsters due to the function of social media that enables people to record and upload any recordings to their account. To illustrate, there are accounts made to seek and expose the perpetrator of animal abuse through the uploading of the recordings to give them social pressure and punishment. Due to the scale of the account, the persecution of the perpetrator can be quite harsh, often resulting in the animal abuser losing their job position. However, these accounts have raised the awareness of how we should take care of other living creatures. To conclude, the presented examples showed backgrounds and catalysts of how the young generations are more aware of environmental, people, and animal welfare issues. It can be seen that what has been the catalyst for the surging awareness of the mentioned affairs above have similarities in terms of how the emergence of new mediums of information and platforms, enabled by the advancement of technologies are what enabled younger people to have the opportunity to be more aware and act for the issues that they gravitate towards.