Walking is known to be beneficial for health yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reason for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Whilst the advantages of jogging on a daily basis are extensively known by many, nevertheless the number of people who uphold walking is decreasing due to the shrinkage of trails in cities and the effects of digitalization. It is my firm belief that by encouraging city executive powers to establish more recreational areas for people to jog as well as educating people about the health benefits of walking outside. First of all, urbanization is one of the leading reasons that brought about the complete eradication of walking trails in many megapolises. It is important to acknowledge that the existence of these recreational areas is paramount for citizens who would indulge in hiking to escape from the hustle and bustle of cities. The construction of new residential and commercial buildings has affected joggers tremendously as they are among the group of people who are impacted the most by these works. Eventually, the extension of concrete jungles without a proper place for people to perform sports activities like walking, pushes people to explore other alternatives like altering the type of sports activities. I think, Governmental bodies should take the establishment of new trails for citizens to walk, into account while preparing the master plan of a city. Secondly, having experienced these impediments in cities, more and more people now prefer to complete their morning trekking routines with the help of treadmills. The digitalized world has now a lot to offer when it comes to participating in sports activities like hiking. For instance, recently, people now wear virtual reality glasses while walking on a treadmill to double the gratification as an end product. A possible solution to motivate people to return to trails is enlightening them about the repercussions of continuous home exercises. In conclusion, although urbanization and digitalization are the chief culprits for fewer people walking, precautionary measures like the installation of new areas and warning people about the negative outcomes of solely sticking with home exercises.