Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while other believe that they should be treated like patients and sent to hospital. Discuss bothe these views and give your own opinion

In the debate of how to deal with drug addicts? people have two different approaches, half of them believe in treating such people as criminals while other half is more compassionate and wants them to be considered as patients. It is striking how opposite both the narratives are, with one focussing on punishment and the other on rehabilitation, moreover, personally I opine more with the first perspective. First of all, statistically today drugs are more commonly used than they ever were. It is illegal to sell them and still 1/3 of a country population is under its influence. People knowing all the related health hazards and its impact on the behaviour, still willingly pay high price to buy it. Such people become a source of causing crime in streets and harm other people. As per the police records, a vast number of criminal activities are performed by drug-addicts and yet they are unaware of their activities due to drugs. Hence, it is compulsory to jail them and provide medical facility inside so they can recover from the addiction and get the punishment for their wrong doings. On the other hand, irony of this addiction is that some people unwillingly fall in the trap of some junky friends or cunning sellers and sometimes depression takes toll on them. These people need help via rehabilitation centers or some psychics for mental illness treatment and some moral support from family and society. For instance, rehab centers demand has increased as 6 out of 10 addicts make their journey to soberness every other quarter. This needs to be highlighted and promoted among communities in order to have a peaceful crimefree and addiction free environment. In conclusion, it is understandable that the population is divided into two groups for drug addicts with one taking it as a crime and other as an illness. It is, however, the demand that is similar, which is the treatment. In my belief it is a crime that one commits within his senses and later cannot step out of this turmoil, so it is necessary to put a stop by putting them on jail trials and give them required treatment inside the jail.