There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this competitive world where academic achievement is a measure of success young people put a lot of stress on their studies. Some suggest that changes should be made to the school curriculum and subjects like physical education and cookery should be taken off so that students can concentrate on subjects like science and maths. I oppose this suggestion for a number of reasons which will be discussed below. First and foremost, subjects like physical education and cookery hold much more valuethan just being a subject at school. To illustrate, the famous chefs we know nowadays started cooking or baking at an early age which enabled them to gain much experience to be able to cook professionally by the time they completed their studies. Additionally, the great athletes of all time developed an interest in sports during their school days and were later able to turn that passion to a successful career. Therefore, such subjectsare not useless instead they add up as a skill which can be turned into a profession. On the other hand, non-academic subjects are not only beneficial in monetary terms but these subjects act as life skills and are helpful in daily adult life. For instance, the art of cooking enables a person to become self-dependent and removes the reliability on fast food as a meal. While, studying physical education helps students learn about their body and the variety of sports they may find interesting. In addition, extracurricular activities like these act as a great escape for students to relax their minds. As a result, they are able to concentrate better on their academic subjects. In conclusion, considering all the aforementioned arguments it is evident all subjects turn out to be equally valuable to young people. it is my strongest belief that if possible we wish our children to be as stress-free as possible in these academically challenging years