Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or it is the responsibility of producer to avoid extra packaging of products? Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience

Majority of the population are preferring to buy goods through online rather than offline shopping considering their busy life. It is the responsibility of the producer to deliver the items without damage. Packaging the products considering the different modes of shipment and handling diverse unforeseen situations, packaging needs to be done in multiple layers to avoid issues. This over packaging is causing more issues to environment as it is very difficult to diminish the waste considering the volume of packages delivered each day. My personal view is that both consumer and producer should consider reducing the packages and thus help reducing the hazardous impact on the environment. Firstly, my personal view is that it is the responsibility of producer to assess the packaging requirement based on the category of the product. If the item does not need over packaging, they should try to reduce layers that support the item. For example, Glass or ceramic items may need extra support during transition which needs over packaging. Producers should work towards taking the outer packages after delivery from the customers which they can reuse it later for another shipment. Secondly, it is also the responsibility of the consumer to save the nature. Consumers cannot completely avoid ordering the goods considering the oversized packaging. This may solve the problem in question in this digital era. I have observed in one of the shopping portals that, they are providing the option to choose one shipment for all items they ordered. Consumers should choose this option wherever possible so that the number of packages will be reduced. They should give preference to vendors who are providing these kinds of options. To summarize, it is not only the responsibility of the producer but also the responsibility of the consumer to help reduce oversized packaging with the possible options. Government, NGOs and concerned authorities are responsible for creating awareness to avoid over packaging for saving our mother earth.