In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

recently, the ageing population has been a common issue among most countries, especially in developed countries. Even though a longer life span can benefit our human beings, I also believe those can bring about more negative effects on our culture. It is important to know that a society that has a substantial aged population means that the country lacks high-quality manpower resources. compared with young people, the elderly are short of physical strength and adequate energy, when they reach a given age, they can not carry out some tough and intense working tasks and their action also can not respond immediately. In other words, age can not offer efficient productivity, and society's development also depends on the young generation who can work efficiently. pension and tax are two severe and headache matters for a society. In general, the old generation can not create much more economic value, even if they have some financial budgets because they do not have to pay employee taxes and the government should take into consideration their pension fee. furthermore, most pensioners become more and more lack material desire leading to reluctant to consume. those phenomena have no advantages for the commodity economy. senior citizens even though they have enriching life experiences, they merely could give some emotional support to the next generation and their thoughts might not keep up with the pace of modern society. thus, the elderly find it hard to explore the new inspiration and create new value of productivity and they also can not adapt to the changes in the high tech world. they are easily out of this changeable society because of their limited horizons. in conclusion, more older generation can not bring about more positive effects and they have more disadvantages for the young generation and the country of their short eyesight, limited physical quality, and less social productivity.