Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Expression of oneself through art such as music, dance etc. is considered an essential part of being a well-rounded individual. Although it is important that art should be incorporated as a part of the school curriculum for children, it should not replace other subjects being taught in schools. This essay partially agrees that art should be taught to school children and would discuss reasons it should not supercede the tutoring of other equally important areas of study. Art provides a medium for youngsters to express their feelings that otherwise cannot be demonstrated through words. Creative activities such as music, dance, music, drawing etc. could result in children that would grow up to be well-balanced adults. For instance, children with learning disability could be able to draw or paint their emotions for their teachers, parents and other individuals, which would potentially decrease the gap between the able and the non-able people. Nevertheless, teaching children about art as well as the expression of oneself should not impede the tutoring of other school subjects. Schoolboys and girls also need to be coached in other area including but not limited to arithemetic and linguistics because it would prepare them for life later on. Furthermore, kids that aren't interested in art could be fascinated by other subjects and should not be denied the chance to explore all subjects. I believe in the importance of creativity and expression through art and craft, however it should not solely be concentrated so as to raise children that as equally emotionally and logically intelligent. To conclude, the importance of art in the life of younglings cannot be argued, however balancing the teaching of art with other subjects is more important as this could potentially increase the emotional, logical and social quotients which would in turn create well adjusted and emotionally stable adults.