In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in -What are the reasons for this? -How can people research this?

Nowadays, we can find growing number of people who are inclined to find out histories of their accommodations in some countries. It would be interesting and productive to figure out the reasons for this surging interest, and the way to research this. In terms of reasons for this, I believe there are economic and educational reasons. First and foremost, the financial motivation is the biggest and outstanding. In some countries, there are many antique cities containing ancient building built in middle age. If the old building has special history and the owner could reveal it, he could earn a myriad of money. For example, if the accommodation I live was once an office of Adam Smith, the father of modern economic theory, the value of building will certainly upsurge. Secondly, investigating the history of their own house would be good research topic for children. By studying the history and collecting anecdotes of building, children can easily learn the history of their family, hometown. It could be challenging but also riveting project. In this way, history education would be much friendly to many children. For researching the history of buildings, I can suggest three methods. First of all, meticulous research of old writings, including history books, novels, biographies are important. We can find some hints from those literature. And in terms of reliability, historical writing is most credible source. In addition, anecdotal approach will be also useful. History telling form elderly people who lived nearby building would be one of the most important sources. It would give detail information about building, also it could invigorate our imagination. Lastly, art and architecture approaches are also significant. This approach can help find the origin of the building. In conclusion, learning about history of our own houses is beneficial in both economic and educational way. To render good research, we need to study fastidiously relevant literatures, anecdotes, and architecture factors.