It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Educating children in young age play an essential role during child development. While I accept that punishments can have positive effects on children, I believe that parents and teachers should choose suitable method to make children have appropriate awareness. Punishments can affect the child’s psychology as well as their behavior. If a family is often violent towards their children or has negative words for them, they will become depressed and quieter. Moreover, not only they are more stubborn, but also the relationship between family and children will become increasingly distant. In some other cases, if parents know how to educate their children and have appropriate punishments, their offspring can understand the problem without impairing the relationship. For example, when I broke a vase of flowers that my mother loved, she would lose her tempered and yell at me. Sometimes, she would say harsh words even though it was not intentional. However, that gave me a really gloomy and fearful feeling. Any children will have bad memories of violence or being yelled at by their parents. However, punishments have the power to makes kids understand their mistakes and stop bad behaviors. Parents could give their children warnings or light physical punishments if they are too stubborn. For instance, when I skipped class to eat with my friends at cafeteria, my head teacher found out and reported it to my parents. Then they confiscated my phone and told me to study hard. This not only helps me realize truancy is the wrong thing to do during the school time but also increases my self-discipline. In conclusion, it seems to me that no matter how much parents love their children, punishments are necessary in education. However, finding a suitable way to raise children is very difficult and takes a lot of time for both sides to understand each other. Parents should also limit violence and mental disorders in the family to encourage children to have a comprehensive development process.