Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The fact that many available food products are high in sugar and it would result in an unhealthy society, is inevitable. According to some, sugary products should cost much to encourage people to set a less sugary diet. In my perspective, definitely this would not be an efficient way to prevent consuming much sugar and I will investigate this issue in this essay. To begin with, I believe that the more well-informed the people are, the more healthy the society will be. Therefore, infrastructures should be provided for increasing the awareness of individuals about the harmfulness of foods that are high in sugar rather than rising the price of that kind of products. For instance, pushing manufactures for putting some labels on foods which contain beneficial information about the ingredients, specially the amount of sugar on it, is expected to aware people and assist them in making decision for buying more nutritious foods and be in good health while an extortionate price will not work effectively. On the other hand, as rich citizens have access to all pricey goods, increasing the price would not affect the affordability of them for providing expensive foods which are high in sugar, and as a result, this is not expected to lead a healthy society. In the other words, this not only is a fruitless exercise, but also may cause a gap between poor and rich since only a certain part is able to purchase sugary foods. To conclude, I completely disagree with making sugary products expensive in order to reduce the use of them because, at the first place, people should be aware enough to choose a balanced diet with vital nutrients instead of inability in providing it. Furthermore, as this way does not include people from all walks of life would not be effective.