Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Advertisement has always been a crucial part in the world of marketing. Throughout the decade, we have seen a significant increase in the amount of advertisements, whether it is on the media like television or widespread through social network platforms. The goal of advertisements is to get consumers to buy a targeted product, and while this method has been proven considerably successful generally, some people view it as too prevalent to catch the consumers’ attention any more. Advertisements can act as a strong persuasion device to seemingly hypnotize people into buying goods and services. This is so because of the tactics placed in the messages, such as showing people having a good time together when using a particular product, using bandwagon, showing only the upsides of usage and applying compare and contrast strategies to show the effects of using the product and make it stand out. Even if people do not know it, these messages are repeated several times and soon it may brainwash people to finally go out and get the product. For instance, if a person is watching television and sees a certain advertisement of a snack many times, the repeated sight of scrumptious food may result in that person feeling hungry and succumbing to the advertisement at last. Nevertheless, there is another point of view in which the widespread of advertisements makes it a normal thing. After watching a dozen of advertisements, people will see it as a mere everyday routine and cease to pay attention to the message of it. Some people may even choose to turn off a television channel, for instance, only just to avoid seeing and hearing repetitive ads. After a certain frequency, they start to get bored and stop paying attention to ads. Hence, in the end, the main goal is not complete since the people whom the messages are sent out to, do not receive that message. A real life example can be seen from advertisements in a particular social media platform, Youtube. In the youtube marketing mechanism, advertisements are place before and in between videos, hoping that the viewers would also be forced to watch the ads, too. However, this is not usually the case, since many people would just skip it and continue. In conclusion, ads can be successful in persuading people to purchase goods and services, or they can be unsuccessful in many ways. They are very commonly seen nowadays, but not all of them fulfil their purposes. Thus, ads must be designed and presented in the correct way to result in the highest effectiveness.