Governemnts should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The matter of chosing between a path for public transport vs a matter of building for a more self-centered way has been of discussion for a long time. I believe that money should be spent on railways and I have a few arguments for it. Spending money on railways would give us a more vast public transportation. Places that could not have been reached before would find the chance to finally get a taste of the public transport life, resulting in less traffic, less air polution and lastly a faster arrival time at your desired destination. It would also have a great effect on morality of the people as it would lead to a better life in general. One might say the same could be said about spending money on roads. Spending money on roads could also lead to usage of taxis, buses and also modes of transports like bikes and electric cars, both of which would also result in a less polluted climate which would lead to less global warming. In the end I belive there is a lot of potential in spending the funds on railways, As in most countries the railway system doesn't connect every single point of the country together, While there will mostly always would be a drivable path between any two points in the country.